School Board Meeting Minutes July 06, 2011

<<< Return to School Committee-Minutes Selection Page

Cranberry Isles School Board
Minutes of 6 July 2011


I. Meeting was called to order by chairperson Barbara Meyers at the Islesford School at 2:10 P.M. Present: School Board members Barbara Meyers, Kate Chaplin and Ted Spurling, Jr.; Selectman Phil Whitney; Contractor Ben Fulves; Jeri Spurling.
II. Action Items:
A. Reorganization of School Committee:
1. Chairperson: Kate Chaplin nominated Barbara Meyers. Seconded by Ted Spurling. Vote: Yes, unanimously.
2. Secretary: Kate Chaplin nominated Ted Spurling, Jr.. Seconded by Barbara Meyers. Vote: Yes, unanimously.
3. Truant Officer: Barbara Meyers nominated Richard Howland. Seconded by Kate Chaplin. Vote: Yes, unanimously.
4. School Physician: Barbara Meyers nominated David Painter, M.D. Seconded by Kate Chaplin. Vote: Yes, unanimously.
III. Discussion and Possible Action Items: Transportation: Barbara said that Beal and Bunker has raised the price of ferry tickets. She suggested a contract price with them. Barbara to ask Carol MacRae, Principal, to contact Beal and Bunker regarding this.
IV. Discussion and Planning for School Building Safety Projects with Ben Fulves.
A. Ben said that he has hired Dennis Riley to inspect the metal staircase (fire escape) at Longfellow School, for a guaranteed price of $500 for inspection only. The price from CES was higher.
B. Ben said that we will need as-built drawings submitted for a range of projects, design of staircase, etc.
C. Conceptual drawings will be separate from construction drawings.
D. Ben recommends conceptual drawings even though the final architect may do his or her own conceptual drawings.
E. Ben estimates conceptual drawings would take about 10 hours at about $75 per hour. This would speed the process and help the board make decisions.
F. [NOTE: Ben has recorded these discussions. For more detail one may obtain an audio from him.]
V. Other Business: None.
VI. Future Agenda Items: None.
VII. Adjournment: 3:40 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,
Theodore L. Spurling, Jr.

<<< Return to School Committee-Minutes Selection Page